incorrect-yuri-on-ice:

We should petition not only a guaranteed second season, but that the second half of History Maker be the opening. The subtle change of lyrics honestly holds so much meaning to how the season would change now that Yuuri and Victor (and Yuri!) are able to support each other and fill each other with newfound motivation and meaning.

“Can you hear my heartbeat?
I’ve got a feeling it’s never too late
I close my eyes and see myself how my dreams will come true

There’ll be no more darkness
when you believe in yourself you are unstoppable
Where your destiny lies, dancing on the blades,
you set my heart on fire

Don’t stop us now, the moment of truth
We were born to make history
We’ll make it happen, we’ll turn it around
Yes, we were born to make history”

The tone of the song changes as well, becoming much more upbeat and cheerful. 

I honestly am so glad that Yuri On Ice has been able to influence me and truly, make history.

victor-katsukii:

Of course he doesn’t want to leave the rink. Of course he doesn’t want it to be over. Yuuri never once actually wanted to retire. His anxiety constantly got in the way of what he desired from himself- telling him to let Victor go because Victor wanted to return to competitive skating anyway, telling him that he won’t be able to last much longer because his body won’t hold out, telling him that his only choice was to retire after this season because it would be better for everyone involved- when in reality the opposite was always true. 

Although Yuuri has been skating for over a decade, it wasn’t until this season that he finally found enjoyment and fulfillment and inspiration in his own skating, and we can all see how much better he’s become for it, in both his technical skill and in the way he lives his life. Only just now has he found his own version of Life and Love- the confidence and beauty and love that Victor brought into Yuuri’s life. And he hasn’t even realized his full potential with this new inspiration. He has yet to win gold, but he’s more than capable of it. If he was able to tap into his current mindset on the day of the Grand Prix short program, he would have won the whole damn thing. All of us can see that this isn’t an end for Yuuri- it’s just the beginning.

And after months of telling himself that this was his last season, that he was going to have Victor step down as his coach and then retire from professional figure skating (yes, in that order- because skating was always about Victor for Yuuri) he reaches the end of his final skate- and it clicks. Of course he doesn’t want it to end when he’s only just begun. This is the sport that he loves, the sport that he dedicated his life to, the sport that brought Victor into his life and everything that entails. When faced with the end of everything precious to him, Yuuri finally realized how much it meant to him- realized that he wasn’t ready to give it all up.

YOI Ep 12 and Victor’s Love

accioharo:

First off: Victor is still staying on as Yuuri’s coach? He outright says as much in the episode.

There are so many posts about how Yuuri is going to be coached when Victor is competing, but Victor outright says he’s still coaching him. 

It is going to be difficult for Victor to try to juggle both, yes. But it’s so Victor, and so Victor for Yuuri, that it’s not surprising. And as much as Yuuri will lean on Victor, I’m sure Victor will lean on Yuuri.

I also got the impression that this season isn’t as much about the results as Victor, as it is the love of the sport. Sure he’s competitive, but hell Yuuri’s got to get that five time world champion streak started as soon as possible or he’ll have to retire before he can complete it. 

Okay so the real meat of this post. I’m going to talk a lot about Victor’s love for Yuuri and how it manifests in this episode, and also a little bit about Yurio’s love for Yuuri.

Keep reading

lookiamnotcreative:

Omigod I just read the best JP fandom meta.

image

With Yakov and likely his other rinkmates who know his habits, Victor’s hug is actually not an affection thing or a reassurance but an SOS call.

Guess what he did in episode 12.

image

“Help me, Yuri. I can’t do this. Yuuri’s retiring and I can’t stop him. I cried and I can’t stop him. Please skate your best. Please stop him from retiring. It’s still not too late right now, he still hasn’t completely decided. I can’t think of anyone who can save both of us but you.

…………..and literally any salt I had remaining for Yurio getting the gold just vanished in the blink of an eye. GOOD JOB WITH THAT SKATE, SON.

I read this meta from here, btw.

thatshamelessyaoishipper:

Okay, but can we take a moment to realize how difficult it must have been for the creators of Yuri on Ice to even get an anime studio to work with them?

Because this was not a simple project at all.

Like, think about Kubo-sensei walking into an office to begin negotiations with an anime studio to get the project known as “Yuri on Ice” greenlit and approved for production (I mean, in real life it’s a bit more complicated than that, but let’s just imagine for the sake of brevity and clarity), and she begins pitching her product:

“We would like to make an original anime about male figure skating”

[Figure skating is one of the most niche sports you could think of, esp in Japan, which could make it really hard to sell]

“Featuring a serious emotional (romantic) relationship between two men”

[Anime is notorious for its poor presentation of homosexuality and is afraid to treat the topic seriously and respectfully because it might scare away potential viewers]

“As well as about 14 different skaters, all from different parts of the world and relevant to the story in some way”

[All of that requires extra character design and casting]

“Which would all need at least 1 figure skating program each, amounting in about 22 different skating programs total

[That requires immense amounts of animation (and research, and references for its sake) which also means the animation team has to be sufficiently large and skilled to accommodate this need]

“And for this we would also need a professional figure skating choreographer, to actually design all the programs”

[Finding someone who could design 22 different programs, some of them particularly impactful and memorable is a difficult task in and of itself and finding someone who would want to work on an anime project is even harder]

“And of course, we would need someone to write about 22 different music pieces for all of the programs”

[All of which would need to be impactful and memorable, similarly to the choreography]

“And all of this would be contained within 12 episodes.”

[Meaning very little downtime between competitions, as we saw, which means that the animation team has no time to rest because they must complete all the frames for the next episode’s programs (and let me tell you that fluidly animating figure skating is not only difficult but also time consuming as all hell)]

I feel like I could still mention a few aspects, like for example the design of the different locations and the references that it would require, but I think this already gives you a picture of how difficult it was to not only make this anime, but how hard it must have been to actually get it approved (considering how difficult the production process would be, especially for something that originally looked like a risky project that may not even be popular enough to make a profit).

In case you needed more reasons to appreciate Yuri on Ice, let’s take a moment to appreciate how much work and effort went into the creation process for this anime.

Because the fact that it even exists is nothing short of a miracle and something we should never take for granted.

keeping yuuri on the ice

kaerb:

Many of us were expecting Yuuri to win the gold and for Victuuri to retire into domestic bliss after having found each other. But perhaps we – like Yuuri – missed the fact that Yuuri’s own skating has value beyond being for Viktor or embodying his feelings for Viktor. 

Yuuri still doesn’t know that Viktor was empty and unfulfilled in his lonely God-like position (and may likely be done with figure skating in general?). Yuuri still believes that him continuing to skate is holding Viktor back. While he still believes this, Yuuri retiring to put Viktor back on the ice amounts to Yuuri again not seeing his own value as a skater, the value of continuing to push himself and his value to Viktor. 

No wonder Viktor’s pissed off. 

image
image
image

I still believe Viktor did not truly intend to return to competitive skating. Nothing about his face feels like he’s super keen to return. But Viktor has always met Yuuri in his own ‘language’ in order to keep Yuuri close to him. Yuuri will be a delicious katsudon to channel his Eros? Viktor loves katsudon. Yuuri wants to call these ‘good luck charms’ instead of wedding rings? Viktor will call it a good luck charm. 

And now that Yuuri has equated attaining gold to leaving Viktor and leaving skating? Viktor will fight to keep Yuuri from the gold, so that Yuuri will keep skating. Skating has always been their love language so this is Viktor desperately saying stay close to me through his actions.  

Looking back, it’s pretty masterfully executed. Viktor fires Yuuri up before the free skate by emphasising all he has sacrificed for Yuuri to win gold. This seemed really out of character at first – Viktor’s love isn’t conditional on Yuuri winning gold and we know this. But Yuuri has ‘already made up his mind’. Viktor reassuring Yuuri of his love (eg. ‘I will love you no matter if you win or lose’) would reaffirm the romance issue but it would not keep Yuuri on the ice. So Viktor says he wants to kiss the gold medal. Yuuri has to win. To Yuuri, this seems like it’s acceptance of Yuuri’s decision. Skate a perfect program, give Viktor his final present (a gold medal) and retire. 

But Viktor has other plans. After the skate, he essentially says to Yuuri, ‘you skated a great program but you still need to beat me.’ Will that motivate Yuuri to continue skating? Maybe – it certainly excites Yuuri. But Viktor has to be sure. Yuuri can’t win the gold. So now it’s up to Yurio. It’s no coincidence Viktor chose this moment to insist on breaking the news to Yakov – when he knew Yurio was listening.

image

I…don’t think it’s skating, for Viktor. 

image

Note Yurio being the one to see through Viktor’s comeback talk and zero in on the main point, which is Viktor’s desperation to prevent Yuuri from retiring from skating. Let’s not discount the fact Viktor put aside all that happened at the beach and make himself both vulnerable and humble by hugging Yurio – this is a crisis and Yurio understands this and skates the skate of his life, all while thinking he will make Yuuri regret retiring for the rest if his life by winning. Viktor’s not the only one who sees value in Yuuri’s skating as its own existence – Yurio’s noticed it from the beginning. And Yurio wins, and it’s working – Yuuri is fired up. 

image
image

Now it’s time for Viktor to sink in the final hook. He’s failed as a coach, clearly. He doesn’t get to kiss Yuuri’s gold medal. How sad. What a regret. 

image

There’s the Yuuri he loves, this (and not making his own comeback) is what gives Viktor his ridiculous Minami!moe eyes. A Yuuri who wants to continue to fight. A Yuuri who will stay with him.

image

So these two idiots confusedly stumbled into what they both wanted – to stay together – without having a proper conversation about how…that doesn’t necessarily need to involve skating. But right now, it does need skating. 

image

Stammi Vicino therefore achieves the dual purpose of both reassuring us their romantic relationship survives but also that one of them being on the ice should not be at the expense of the other. If this becomes a thing in Season 2, Yuuri needs to understand that if Viktor chooses to leave skating, it’s Viktor’s own decision, and not a sacrifice Viktor is making to keep Yuuri on the ice. 

This is a conflict the writers have left unresolved – and it’s something I think they need to resolve to move forward. Hopefully a second season will give them the time and nuance to do this in depth. 

tag yourself as yoi!!! on ice pick- up lines

yuuri: “i am the katsudon that will enthrall you.”
viktor: “your life and love have taught me about a brand new world that i’d never known about.”
yurio: “if selling my soul is what it takes, i’ll give you this body, no holds barred.”
phichit: “i’m going to become your future.”
otabek: “you have the unforgettable eyes of a soldier.”
christophe: “i’m good at coming from behind.”
jj: “i look into the mirror and the king looks back at me. will you be my queen?”
georgi: “i am your evil witch”
seung-gil: “i might look like i don’t care, but i really do.”
mickey: “i’ll get pair rings with you.”
emil: “i’m human in the streets, super human in the sheets.”
guang hong: “i’ll give up sns for you.”
leo: “all i know for sure is that i have no idea how i would’ve found courage in myself if i hadn’t come across you.”