The thing that gets me about Andrew Minyard is … at the beginning of The Foxhole Court I really really didn’t like him. He was an asshole, he didn’t care about anyone (so I thought) and he was just … I just didn’t GET him. And that’s where the Upperclassmen still are, because they don’t care or don’t want to look further (plus: Andrew doesn’t care for anything that would make it easier to approach and understand him). That’s why they still think he’s a soulless monster (EVEYRTIME someone calls Andrew a monster I wanna yell “HE’S NOT!!!!!”).
But we get Neil’s pov. We get to know Andrew better, to get to know him AT ALL basically, and to understand him because Neil does. Because Neil is the first one to care enough and to be curious and persistent enough to do so. Having Neil’s pov gives us the opportunity to read one of the most amazing character arcs/character developments/character designs I ever came across in literature (simply because there is somone who makes the effort to LOOK).
I think I love Andrew Minyard so goddamn much because Neil does. Because I think it’s absolutely impossible to not-love Andrew when you see him through Neil’s eyes – the only eyes that see Andrew for who he really is. And I think this is beautiful.
Tag: neil josten
character moodboards – neil josten
okay but what if stuart showed up too late
what if nathan cut all of the tendons in neil’s knees and ankles like he’d said
and the neil that gets collected by the cops is a neil who will never walk without assistance again let alone run
neil with a physical disability and chronic pain along with his scars and his ptsd and all the other shit he has to deal with
neil who used to be the fastest of the foxes taking twice as long to do everything because his legs are a painful mess of scars and feel like deadweight most days
neil who has to use a wheelchair for long distances and on bad days because they did every surgery they could but there is no coming back from the hack job nathan did
neil using forearm crutches to get around the dorm and andrew losing his shit on anyone who leaves stuff lying on the ground because it’ll trip neil up
neil in near constant pain still telling everyone he’s fine, but the rest of the foxes know him too well for that
attitude problem.
ok so like we know that neil is a multi-lingual who can learn new languages like nobody’s business right. and in canon he knows english french german and spanish, and in the extra content we find out that he learns russian with andrew later on. so like after he’s fluent in russian he decides to learn japanese bc he figures it’ll come in handy when he’s dealing with the moriyamas and whatever but mostly he does it because he wants to terrorize kevin. like
- one day kevin is bitching and cursing in japanese during practice and neil just slides in beside him and says, in japanese, “you shouldn’t swear so much, kevin” and kevin blinks and just. doesn’t know who he wants to punch more, himself or neil
- after he gets over the shock of neil knowing japanese, he rolls with it ok so w/e it just means that they can communicate in another language now
- and andrew is Suffering because now kevin and neil can argue about Exy in english, french, AND japanese
- kevin and neil going over progress reports about the freshmen’s training with wymack and kevin saying “everything is going according to keikaku”. neil, turning to wymack, “keikaku means plan”
- kevin accidentally telling neil, in slurred japanese when he’s had a bottle vodka, that he’s actually a closet weeb in addition to being a history nerd
- watching anime w/o subtitles together and criticizing and rating the anime they watch on a scale of how much of a mistake each one is. miyazaki did not retire for all the boob and panty shots
- “one day they’ll make an Exy anime, i just know it.” “kiss kiss bang your head on the plexiglass”
- misspelling エクシ (e-ku-shi) as エクツ (e-ku-tsu) and kevin complaining about neil’s incompetence for an hour
- “kevin does thea know about all of your waifus”
- kevin’s favorite j-pop singers are all Johnny’s boy-bands and one day he plays the songs because now neil can appreciate his taste in japanese songs as well and then nicky googles the bands and sees that they all consist of pretty boys and nicky is just kev,, sweetie,, ,
i lied this is actually the last one. whenever neil is being sassy towards matt he likes using matt’s full name. “no need for the attitude MATTHEW”
neil has no qualms about whipping out the matthew donovan boyd like an angry suburban mom but matt can’t retaliate bc neil refuses to tell him his middle name so matt makes up his own middle names for him
“don’t use that tone with me, neil franklin josten”
“neil ebenezer josten i can’t believe you would say that to me”
“NEIL PRUDENCE JO-” “IT’S ABRAM MY MIDDLE NAME IS ABRAM, MATT”
#hc that they both do it to kevin too #but they make names up since kevin doesnt have a middle name #and they use weird history names that they think he’ll appreciate #‘kevin andromeda day-’ #‘ive had enough of your bad attitude kevin priapus day’ #‘kevin ferdinand day that is no way to talk to your father’ #‘watch your mouth kevin louis iii day’ (tags via @foxes-evermore)
bless u for this addition
All For The Game characters:
Neil Josten
honestly the most unrealistic part of tfc is neil never having any trouble with his contact lenses. like as if neil never got out of practice and rubbed his eyes while grunting bc the lenses just decided to burn out of no where. ur tryna make me believe that andrew found out about them because of the tiny rings around neil’s irises not because he caught neil blinking like a dumbass? wrong.
Wanted to draw my son for his birthday, but late as alway
/apologies for the lack of content I’ve been in a major slump lately, but I’m trying to get back on track…/
Neil is majoring in mathematical sciences so imagine him calculating the trajectory of Exy balls being rebounded at different angles and being able to help Kevin make a supposedly impossible shot and Andrew is unsure of whether he wants to bang Neil or kill him.